Nintendo Power

Nintendo is making a big push back into the console market – as my buddy Eller so astutely alluded to in a previous post.

It seems that even if consumers can’t pronounce the name of the new console, they’re happy to buy it. Nintendo has sold more than 600,000 consoles in the first 8 days of release in the Americas. Sets are being sold on eBay for 3-4 times the MSRP. And Nintendo has its supply chain in order and will be able to ship more consoles for the holiday rush than rival Sony.

Priced at less than half the price of the new PlayStation3, the Wii is banking on its unique motion sensitive controllers that allow users to become a part of the games. For a guy who grew up on the 8-bit Nintendo with it’s directional pad and two buttons, the idea of trading in an XBox or PS3 controller and it’s endless amounts of buttons for a motion sensitive controller is appealing. I saw a commercial this morning and would love to try it out.

It will be fun to watch the console wars play out over the next year.

2 Responses to Nintendo Power

  1. michaeleller says:

    Yeeeeeeah!! That’s what I’m talking about… Zack Mansfield writing a post about video games. Cantona24 rides again!!

    Just so you know… one of my co-workers bought a Wii and brought it into work last week. I got to mess around with it for about a half an hour and was pretty impressed. Granted I was only getting to play Wii Sports (the game included with the console), but it was neat to get a feel for how responsive it is. And based on that 30 minute trial… I wasn’t completely blown away, but I do think that as more and more games come out and developers get a better feel for the controller’s limitations and strengths, the experience will keep improving.

    Boxing was kinda frustrating… just because I couldn’t get my guy to punch as quickly or as often as I wanted. But Golf and Tennis were a lot of fun. I could totally see me and my friends getting incredibly competitive as we played 9 holes or a set against each other. I really do think this is going to be the wave of the future, though. It’s got a ton of potential… I just can’t wait to play the new Zelda game.

  2. Susong says:

    I played it and it is freakin FUN as hell. The tennis game is going to be trouble at 3:00 in the morning….

Leave a Reply

