Thoughts on Butch

So it looks like Carolina has found a football coach, and his name is Butch.

While there have been various media reports both confirming Butch Davis as the next coach and then backpedaling to say that the deal has not been done, it’s pretty clear now that the deal is, for all intents and purposes, done.

I hope.

After reading David Glenn’s excellent post on the topic (and reading the comments), as well as hearing from a couple of my own “anonymous sources” – all signs point to Davis in Carolina blue, probably at a press conference next week.

I had my doubts about whether or not Butch Davis was the right choice for UNC. In fact, in an email exchange with one of my buddies a week ago, I wanted nothing to do with Butch and hoped for Paul Johnson or another “up and coming” coach instead. I have the same worries as many Tar Heel fans – we’re afraid that Chapel Hill is not a “destination job” for top tier coaches, and that Butch will just be a mercenary, putting in a few good years before hopping on to the next big thing (whether that’s in college or the NFL again).

But now it seems that Butch is ready to sign, and I have to say that I’m ecstatic. I think a great deal of my initial feelings about Davis stemmed from the fact that I wasn’t sure we could get him. I didn’t want to get my hopes up and then be crushed (a la Beamer or Roy, version 1). Davis is a winner – he went 51-20 at Miami in spite of numerous scholarship restrictions. But what really got me excited was hearing Kirk Herbstreit (best analyst on TV in my book – in any sport) on the radio yesterday saying that Butch Davis is a GREAT college football coach. Not good. GREAT.

Herbstreit went on to speak about Butch’s reputation as a disciplinarian, leader, and winner. If Davis comes to UNC, Herbstreit expects the Heels to not only turn the program around, but compete for ACC titles. Heck, I’d settle for 7-8 wins and an occasional flirtation with the BCS.

On a sidenote, if the reason that we’re waiting to announce officially is out of respect for this weekend’s Homecoming and Bunting – well, that’s a terrible excuse. Leaking out information and waiting until Monday to “officially announce” is just silly. Hopefully there’s a better reason for the timing and communication on all of this.

Alas, we’ll have to wait. Hark the Sound, Butch – Hark the Sound.

Leave a Reply

