A better way to do things…

I think about technology a lot. Partly it’s because I’m a gadget guy. I’m not much of a handyman, but when it comes to being able to work a piece of electronics, I can usually figure it out. During my last 6 months at CED, I was unabashedly a CrackBerry user, and I loved every minute of it. When I’m not tinkering around with new gadgets, I spend some time reading blogs about new web 2.0 companies, many of whom are changing the way we see the Web. During the day, I live in technology. Or more specifically – I’m on the phone, trying to tell other people about Visitar’s technology.

At the end of the day, technology is only great if it’s an enabler – it must enable you to do something you’ve never been able to do before, or offer a better way to do things you’ve always done. Technology that’s just “cool” and doesn’t fit squarely in one of these two categories is destined to become a relic of the past – laser discs anyone?

My mom told me about a company called Nuance which is a world leader in speech to text software. Basically, the company’s software allows people to speak their emails, memos, text messages, etc. Nuance claims 99% accuracy, and the company has created quite a buzz recently with a contest that pitted man vs. machine – their new mobile software vs. the world’s fastest text messager.

When you have five minutes, check out this video. After viewing it, I was blown away, and couldn’t stop thinking about the endless applications for the Nuance software. The case was definitely made for why the Nuance software is a better way of doing things. Not convinced? Test your typing ability against the software.

And if you’re not interested at all, check out the video anyway, just to see the absolutely insane ability of the world’s fastest text messager.

One Response to A better way to do things…

  1. Kelly says:

    yeah so I did enjoy this, as promised. AND I actually tried texting the first one to see how fast I could do it. oh gosh, am I a total loser? hahaha…

Leave a Reply

