Cat Whitehill…Big Time Stuff

cat-whitehill.jpg
Photo:© Brad Smith / International Sports Images

I was going to write a post today about how I went to Greensboro last night to see my parents’ exchange student, Vlado, play for Western Guilford in the first round of the 3-A State Soccer playoffs.

But I have a rule in my life: any time someone who I know well – well enough to be in his/her wedding, and have stayed in his/her apartment and slept in his/her amazing king size bed for 4 months while waiting to buy a house – gets an article about them on the front of ESPN.com…well, I have to write about it.

I clicked on the article, “US Women’s Reach Peace Cup Final”, and was excited to see if my good friend Cat Whitehill had played and had an impact on the game.

Boy did she ever. I’ll let the first line of the article do her justice:

SUWON, South Korea — Defender Cat Whitehill beat five players to score in injury time Thursday as the United States defeated the Netherlands 2-0 in the women’s soccer Peace Queen Cup to set up an all-North American final with Canada.

Wow. I couldn’t beat five players to score in injury time in a co-ed intramural game. And Cat just did it against the best players in the world, in an international tournament, after two of the other best players on the team had to leave the game due to a red card and an ankle injury.

That’s big time stuff, from a big time player. We’re so proud of you Cat – how about another game winner in the Finals!

2 Responses to Cat Whitehill…Big Time Stuff

  1. Kelly says:

    Zack, thanks for sending me the link to your blog…I am excited to get news updates like this one (yeah Catherine!!) from you – its much easier and more interesting this way. Keep ’em coming!

  2. Lynn Whitehill says:

    Very entertaining! And, yeah, go Whitehill!

Leave a Reply

